I may be a self-diagnosed penny pincher is some areas, but who doesn’t want to save money on stuff?  My latest quest has been to find the cheapest curbside trash service in town.  I looked into getting a dumpster, sharing a dumpster with the neighbors, hauling off my own recyclables, hauling my trash to the dump myself, and just not throwing anything away (didn’t go so well).

You’d expect the town were I live, Belton, Missouri to have a few unneeded struggles and complications to make life more difficult, and they’ve come through yet again.  Bless their little hearts.  We’ve got about 4-5 choices for trash pick up here inside city limits right now.   This number used to be higher before Town and Country bought at least 2 of the smaller (cheaper) services in town and raised rates. 

Here’s a few problems with the current system:

Belton refuses to let all trash companies compete for business inside Belton city limits, fewer options means higher prices.

Belton forces at least one of the companies to charge for recycling even if you don’t use the service.  With the others, if you don’t use it, you don’t pay for it.  They just aren’t consistent.

Long story even longer, this summer with gas prices creeping up, most trash service rates are going up as well.  Cheapest I’ve found is Hyden Hauling, 816.322.4637.  They offer curbside service for $15 a month, that’s anywhere from $2-$15 cheaper than the competition right now.  For recycling, I take stuff up to Lee’s Summit Recycling Center, since Belton doesn’t have one.

So go through the yellow pages, call a few companies and see what they can do for you.  I’ve even negotiated with 2 of the companies for lower rates when I had found a better deal elsewhere.

